Beetroot Cutlet

July 2, 2007 at 3:18 am 3 comments

recipe source: my collection
serves:10 medium sized cutlets
prep’time: 30 mins

Beetroot is wonderful veggie to me.I love the colour of cut beetroot. Apart from cooking this vegetable I also use beetroot to colour any other recipes if needed. I grate little beetroot and squeeze the juice to add color to the recipe that calls for a color. Few weeks back I tried cutlet with this vegetable and we all liked it. Good thing for me is my daughter also liked it.so,I knew another way to give her this wonderful veggie.
To make this cutlet I used

Ingredients:
3 small beets
1 medium potato
1 medium onion
1/2 tsp grated ginger
1 tsp red chilly powder
1/2 tsp garam masala powder
1 tsp dhaniya powder
salt as required
1/2 tsp jeera
1 tbsp suji
1 tbsp maida/all purpose flour
oil

Method:
Pressure cook beets and potato. Peel skin from beets and potato. Grate beets and potato .Heat 1 tbsp oil in a deep pan and add jeera,grated ginger and then onion.Fry for few minutes untill onion is cooked and then add grated beets and potato. Add all dry powders and salt.Mix well and let this mixture cool.
Now,make small lemon sized balls.Mix all purpose flour in water to make a thin batter.Spread suji on a palte.Take the veggie ball into your palm,flatten it like a tikki ,dip in flour batter and pat with suji on both sides and shallow fry this on a hot tawa and serve hot with tamarind sauce

Entry filed under: Snacks and Savouries.

Dosakaya Pachchadi Sponge Cake

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chaitali  |  August 2, 2007 at 1:45 pm

    hi i am chaitali.I have tried your beetroot cutlet and it comes really good.thanks a lot and keep posting.

  • 2. Madhavi  |  August 2, 2007 at 5:15 pm

    Thankyou Chaitali for visiting my blog. Iam happy to know that you tried out my beetroot cutlet recipe and it came out well.Keep visiting for recipes .

  • 3. mANoJ  |  May 7, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    Thanks Madhavi … I’m working here in the caribbean and have to take care of my cooking/eating…

    I just found this site thru google search.. since I make beetroot cutlets but not very nicely..I wanted to find a better way to make them

    Thanks for the nice hints..
    I’ll add this website to my favourites…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Top Clicks

  • None

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 10,327 hits

Feeds

Top Posts


