Bisi bele bath

July 24, 2007 at 6:20 pm 6 comments

I learn’t this recipe from one of my husband’s close friend’s mom in the first year of our marriage. She sent me this recipe through email and ever since I preserved this as a hard copy in my diary. Bisi bele bath is a popular kannadigan rice dish which is very simple to look,cook and yet tasty and delicious to provide a satisfying meal. Before I knew the recipe to make powder,I bought this powder from Indian store .But ,ever since I knew making the powder,i never again bought the powder .

To make bisi bele bath powder,


1 cup urad dal
1 cup chana dal
1/2 cup coriander seeds
red chiliies 20-25(adjust according to taste)
cumin seeds 5 tsps
cloves 5
cinnamon 2-3 small pieces
roast all the above ingredients in a tbsp of oil and make a fine powder after the ingredients are cooled.
This powder can be stored in an air tight jar and can used for 2-3 times or more.

To make bisi bele bath,
Ingredients
1 cup rice
toor dal 1/2 cup
tamrind big lime sized soaked in water
choice of vegetables(potatoes,carrot,green peas,beans)
Popu -> mustard,hing and curry leaves sauted in ghee
Method:
Cook rice wtih 2 cups water till soft and keep aside.Cook dal and veggies till soft.Extract tamrind juice.Make sure you have 2 cups of tamrind juice for 1 cup uncooked rice. Heat a wide ,sturdy pan.Add and saute popu. Add tamarind juice and bring to a boiling point.Now,add all the cooked ingredients(rice,dal and veggies).Let it boil for 2 more mins.Add salt and 5-6 spoons of bisi bele bath powder. top it off with a spoon ghee and serve hot with savories like papad,boondhi or sev. This is my entry for the RCI- karntaka cuisine hosted by Asha.

Entry filed under: Rice.

My friend Ashwini’s recipe for Sambar Puliyogare Powder

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. swapna susarla  |  July 24, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    Hi madhavi thanks for visiting my blog.u have lots of goodies that are my favorites.waiting for the pictures to come.

  • 2. Asha  |  July 24, 2007 at 8:45 pm

    Love it! BBB is always my favorite.I don’t make this often but when I make it,love to eat leaftovers for 3 days!:))
    Thanks for the recipe Madhavi.

  • 3. Madhavi  |  July 24, 2007 at 9:13 pm

    thanks swapna and Asha for visiting my blog and dropping some sweet words.comments are not common in my blog so,Iam just overwhelmed to see comments pouring in today. seems like Iam too getting into the blogosphere stream.

  • 4. Esprit D'escalier  |  February 17, 2008 at 10:45 am

    Hi madhavi. I tried BBB when i was in chennai in a 5 star hotel. However a local guy suggested that i should try the authentic one. I am back in Pune and searched for BBB masala but in vain. Then the net came for my resucue, and i landed here on your blog. I love cooking once in a week for my wife. Tonight i am going to try this dish at home. Thanks for the same. Keep posting such stuff on the net.

  • 5. kishore  |  March 20, 2009 at 12:33 am

    Hi,

    I am sorry to be critical. But by no stretch of even imagination what you do is bbb. I am not sure which part of India you are, but certainly, what I see in the picture is not bisi bele bath.

    Rice shouldnt be cooked separately (unless u r looking convenience). And bbb should not be that hard.

    BBB is my favorite dish, I am 75% good in cooking it. But the best is what they serve in marriage buffets in bangalore. I haven’t gotten to get to that recipe.

    However if you want my bbb recipe, I will forward it to you try that. Having said that, one man’s food is another man’s poison, if u like it your way, thats fine. Sorry, I didnt mean to offend you. Just trying to help you out with better ideas.

  • 6. Kusum Dey  |  April 27, 2011 at 8:12 am

    http://wn.com/Bisi_Bele_Bath_recipe_part-1

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Top Clicks

  • None

Flickr Photos

blogcollage1

blogcollage

idly podi

pesara avakaya

sambar podi

Oven roasted veggies

Stuffed eggplants

Sugar cookies

Cinnamon glazed almonds

Garlic rice

More Photos

Blog Stats

  • 10,327 hits

Feeds

Top Posts


