Eggless Strawberry Muffins

August 15, 2007 at 7:43 pm 10 comments

After long time I baked some muffins today and that too with a fruit that I just love to have as long as Iam here in America,because these fruits are not so common back in my home . I never knew these strawberries in Vizag. I heard of them, but, never tasted untill I came to America. My choices of milkshake,icecreams, sundaes and cheesecake are always some kind of strawberry only. And for strawberry crazy people like me I got to know abt one more way to enjoy strawberries is the delicious strawberry short cake. Today I was in a mood to bake some muffins and while peeking into the fridge in the process I saw my red beauties and just made them part of my baking . I knew recently that adding mashed banana gives fluffiness to eggless cakes.And today just to give a try I added 2 tsps of heavy whipping cream as I reduced butter quantity.
Ingredients:
2 cups All Purpose Flour
1.5 cup of sugar(add or reduce sugar to suit your requirement)
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
2 tsps of softened butter
pinch of salt
2 tsp finely mashed or grated ripe banana paste
2 tsp haevy whipping cream+ 2 tsp curd mixed and whisked together
1/4 tsp cardamom powder
1/4 cup milk(or as required)
1 cup chopped strawberries(or as desired)
Method:
Preheat oven to 350F.
Take a bowl and add sifted flour,sugar,pinch of salt,baking powder,baking soda.Now add softened butter and mix with forefingers to make the dough look like crumbly and now add mashed banana,whipping cream+ curd mixture,cardamom powder.Stir to form a thick cake batter adding milk little by little slowly.Add chopped strawberries and just stir gently.Line a muffin pan with baking paper cups and scoop one teaspoon batter into muffin cups.Mkae sure the batter is only 3/4 of the cup giving it a good chance to rise evenly.Bake for 15-20 mins or untill light golden.
My muffins today were super de duper.I liked them.My daughter liked them and Iam waiting for my husband to taste them.
As soon as I got these beauties out of the oven I tried it in another way also. It is my all time favourite strawberry short cake style.I was prepared for this by adding some sugar to a cup of chopped strawberries. So that by the time muffins came out ,my chopped strawberries oozed out juice and were ready to be added onto my cake.I then topped this combo with a scoop of whipping cream and enjoyed the delight.Hope you all will like it too!!
Entry filed under: Bakes and Cakes.

Pulihara with Poha(Atukulu Pulihara) Tindora Stuffed with Kura karam

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Asha  |  August 15, 2007 at 9:05 pm

    You are right! I don’t remember eating Strawberries in India either! I love them too, color ,taste and the aroma too.
    Muffins look yum! Great idea to add bananas to replace Eggs.Enjoy.
    Happy I-day day too!:))

  • 2. Madhavi  |  August 16, 2007 at 10:13 pm

    I see these fruits some times in gib metros in India too,in some imported fruits shops.But they will be very expensive that I prefer to go for fresh local fruits like our chickoo and mango

  • 3. Aruna  |  August 17, 2007 at 11:51 am

    Madhavi, an eggless muffin ? those look very goo…will have to try ur version… Thx.

    themistressofspices.wordpress.com

  • 4. Aruna  |  August 17, 2007 at 11:52 am

    oops I meant those look very good….

  • 5. Madhavi  |  August 17, 2007 at 2:10 pm

    Yes!they were good Aruna.Try them out and tell me how they come out with you.

  • 6. Namratha  |  August 17, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    You are so right, eating Strawberries in India was a rare thing.. I love them too and got to eat them in abundance after coming to the US. Eggless is simply too good because I have cousins who don’t use egg, this will work great for them!:)

  • 7. Madhavi  |  August 17, 2007 at 5:37 pm

    @namrata!
    Thanks for visiting my blog Namrata! we can bake great cakes without eggs too.That I knew only recently. I was one among those persons who believed “whatever we do cakes without eggs are not as great and fluffy as cakes with eggs”.But I was wrong! Eggless cakes too fluff up great given all the needed acidity. Even tough I ate cakes with eggs I always disliked egg smell and that drives for eggless baking these days

  • 8. Latha Narasimhan  |  August 23, 2007 at 11:14 am

    Madhavi, your muffins are nice!
    In bangalore russel market we do get strawberries. I read some recipes in asha’s blog also using strawberries. planning to make all these dishes when I’am able to visit this market.
    Any eggless recipe is my first choice.

  • 9. TBC  |  September 27, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    You made stawberry muffins too!You have a nice eggless version.

  • 10. Kapil  |  January 31, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    Madhavi, my wife baked these and they turned to be delicious. I blogged it at Khana Peena.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Top Clicks

  • None

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 10,330 hits

Feeds

Top Posts


