Tomatillo Pachchadi

September 8, 2007 at 4:38 am Leave a comment


Tomatillos are more like raw unripe tomato. Until recently I was thinking it to be a raw or unripe tomato only.But,seeing the outer husk,I was surprised because I do not remeber seeing any such husk from unripe tomatoes that I ate back in India. After googling,I found out that tomatillo is a relative of tomato.More information about tomatillo can be found here

Never mind dear tomatillo. I still feel the taste very similar to the much known unripe tomato .So,I continued to use it as a raw tomato only.
I learn’t this recipe from my mother in law.Even though making this chutney or pachchadi, I would suggest eating this after 5-6 hours or make it in the morning to eat for dinner as it would taste best when the tomatillo pieces absorb the flavours well by that time.
To make this, I used

3 small tomatillos
1 tbsp mustard seeds
4 dry red chillies(adjust according to chily variety)
salt to taste
popu -> 1 tsp oil,1/4 tsp asfoetida

Method:
Soak mustard seeds and red chillies together in a cup of water for 30 min’s.
Grind soaked mustard seeds and red chillies together into a fine paste using little or no water.
Remove husk,clean and chop tomatillo into fine pieces. Add these pieces to the ground paste. Add salt and stir well. Heat one teaspoon oil in a pan and add 1/4 tsp hing or asfoetida.Add this to the pachchadi and stir. Serve with rice.
Tastes best after 5 – 6 hours.
Entry filed under: Chutnies and Raita.

Upma with leftover Idlies Cauliflower and Beans kura

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Top Clicks

  • None

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 10,330 hits

Feeds

Top Posts


