Upma with leftover Idlies

September 8, 2007 at 4:22 am 3 comments

Idly has become our standard breakfast these days. But, today I was so busy with other things that I skipped my breakfast.So, I had 3 idlies leftover waiting for me. I heard about idly upma but never did myself. Today was the day to try out this one. I made this as a snack in the evening and tasted good.So,Iam sharing it with you all.

In a heated skillet ,I added popu ->1 tsp each of chana dal,urad dal and mustard and 1/4 tsp of cumin seeds in 1 tbsp oil.When dals are fried till gold in colour, add 1/4 tsp of finely chopped ginger, 2 green chillies chopped and 3 curry leaves along with half of a medium sized onion finely chopped. Saute everything till onions are cooked. Now add powdered idly ,season with required salt and stir. I added some soaked and boiled chanaa.

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Snacks and Savouries.

Gobi Matar Sabzi Tomatillo Pachchadi

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Namratha  |  September 8, 2007 at 6:45 pm

    Hey coincidence or what..??! I just made this last night, I too had leftover idlis..and idli upma is a fav in the family

  • 2. Mansi Desai  |  September 12, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    Hey, one of my friends made this once when we were in grad school…taste awesome!!

    nice recipe:)

  • 3. Apple  |  September 16, 2007 at 6:31 pm

    Hi Madhavi, Thanks for visiting my blog..I love idli upma..’m planning to make it since long time…Looks great

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Top Clicks

  • None

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 10,330 hits

Feeds

Top Posts


