Almond -Carrot Muffins

September 21, 2007 at 3:55 pm 3 comments

Eggs entered into my kitchen only few months back. That is because of my daughter because I am trying to give boiled egg to her from past few months. Earlier I bought eggs to make cakes out of those ready mixes for my cake decoration classes.She doesn’t eat most of the time .But sometimes,she eats little bit or at least tastes. That is enough for me to feel happy that at least she tried a little bit of healthy food. Even though it was difficult for me to resist the smell ,I tried giving her scrambled egg and omelet.But she did not like any of them. She tries eating boiled egg sometimes. For those sometimes, I shop eggs in my regular grocery shopping as I don’t want to give up trying . I am hoping that one day she will eat egg.Cakes and muffins have come up into my kitchen in the same process (giving her egg). Yesterday I tried these Almond – Carrot Muffins as part of those trials. As always she tried. But I don’t know yet,if she is going to like or not. I have to wait and see.To make these muffins,I used

Ingredients

1.5 cups of flour
1.5 cups of sugar
3 eggs
3/4 tsp baking powder
1 big carrot grated
1 cup almonds toasted for about 8 Min’s in the oven at 350F and then chopped
1 stick salted butter
1/4 cup milk(or as required to form smooth batter)

Method

Sift together flour,salt(if using unsalted butter use 1/4 tsp salt) and baking powder.
Beat the softened butter and sugar. Add eggs one each at a time , beating till fluffy each time. Add grated carrot,1/4 cup of milk and mix until combined to form a smooth batter.Stir in chopped almonds. Scoop out one teaspoon batter into a greased muffin pan and bake at 350F for 20 Min’s or till muffins look golden in colour.

Entry filed under: Bakes and Cakes.

Beautiful flower arrangement by Lakshmi Coconut Chutney

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rajitha  |  September 21, 2007 at 10:48 pm

    abthat is a healthy muffin 🙂

  • 2. Namratha  |  September 22, 2007 at 1:24 am

    This sure is an interesting combo and that too in a muffin…fabulous! hope your daughter likes eggs soon:)

  • 3. Madhavi  |  September 26, 2007 at 6:26 pm

    @Rajitha!
    This sure is a healthy one.Thanks for visiting
    @Namratha!
    Iam hoping for the same too.I am glad she liked these muffins .

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Top Clicks

  • None

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 10,330 hits

Feeds

Top Posts


