Happy Diwali and some festive preperations in my home.

November 10, 2007 at 6:52 am 5 comments

Happy Diwali everyone. I know I am late but thinking better late than never I am here wishing you all. Last month was quite hectic for me with lots of work including my daughter’s second birthday and moving house .With lots of chores in my life,I could not catch up on blogging actively all through last month. I am hoping that I will be better this month. Coming to celebrating Diwali in my house,it was fun except missing the greatest joy of fireworks in my house. i miss them being here in US.But,today only i came to know that even here in some places Diwali is celebrated with crackers..
OK now,back to back,
I started my Diwali preparations by making murukku and tokkudu laddu. Normally I am little far to all those deep fried oily foods.But,this time I was some how in the mood to celebrate Diwali with lots of food ,just like how my mom used to do when we were kids. So,I decided to make some savories and sweets.
Murukku:
Ingredients:

4 cups rice flour

1 cup roasted Channa Dal finely powdered

1 tsp jeera/ajwain

1 tsp red chilly powder

1.5 tsp salt

1 tbsp melted butter

water to knead the dough

oil for frying

To make murukku,mix together all the dry ingredients. Now add butter and rub with your fingers to form a crumbly dough.Now add water and knead to form thick dough.Cover the dough with a wet kitchen towel. Take a big ball of the dough enough to fit in the murukku press and soften just a little bit with wet hand and stuff this dough into the murukku press. Press the murukkus into hot oil carefully using murukku press. fry on both sides until golden in colour. Take out and drain onto a tissue paper and let it cool.Store in air tight jar and enjoy as a nice tea time snack.

Tokkudu Laddu:

This is a very famous sweet back in my place,Andhra. This is very tasty sweet but quite a time taking sweet that backs off anyone.This year I did this sweet again in my house after 3 years. It became more like a tradition in my house to make this tokkudu laddu for Diwali. So,I went ahead for this year too.
To make this I used,
1 cup besan or senaga pindi

1 cup sugar

2 tbsp ghee

1 pinch baking soda

water just enough to make the batter like murukku batter

oil for deep frying

Method:

First,make thick murukku batter with senagapindi or besan and make murukkus into hot oil and fry till light golden.Drain them onto a paper towel and let cool.Once cooled completely brake the murukkus into small pieces and grind to a coarse powder and keep aside. now measure this powder and take equal quantity of sugar and add little water to sugar and make one string consistency sugar syrup.Add this ground powder and ghee to sugar syrup and cook till it forms like a thick dough.Take off heat and make laddus when batter is just enough to handle while applying ghee to palms in between.Enjoy home made tokkudu laddus.

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous, Snacks and Savouries, Sweets and Desserts.

Semi Homemade Kalakand Moong dal vada

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Namratha  |  November 10, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    A very Happy Deepavali to you too Madhavi, murukkus and ladoos look yummy! 🙂

  • 2. Rajani  |  November 10, 2007 at 11:10 pm

    Hi Madhavi,
    Happy diwali to u too! Nice recipes, will definately try them.

    cheers
    rajani

  • 3. Puspha  |  November 11, 2007 at 1:12 am

    Lovely spread. Happy deepavali.

  • 4. Madhavi  |  November 20, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    @Namratha,Rajani,Pushpa
    Thanks for the hearty wishes and hope you all had a great diwali too.RAjani plz let me know how these delights turn in your kitchen

  • 5. Nandhini  |  April 25, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    mmm..muruku is my favourite snack !
    For a long time i was searching for the muruku press in Indian stores..but finally I found Maruti Kitchen Press, on this web site http://www.perfectpeninsula.com

    You need a right tool to make muruku. The job was done like a breeze, just with one hand ! It was so easy to press.
    When compared to the conventional tool made out of wood or aluminium – you need two hand and have to press very hard and it becomes very difficult to make when the oil is hot 😦

    It also came with a Recipe book with lots of unique snack varieties ! For more info, go to http://www.perfectpeninsula.com/KitchenPress.html

    I hope this would be more useful link, for bloggers who are looking for to buy one !

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Top Clicks

  • None

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 10,330 hits

Feeds

Top Posts


