Spinach with moong dal

November 20, 2007 at 12:00 am 5 comments

Spinach is not very common in my kitchen as I am not a big fan of spinach. But I keep cooking spinach sometimes in my kitchen as I know that it is nutrtion packed food. Apart from routine dal and pulusu with spinach I also tried it this time with moong dal in a dry variety and it came out good and to my surprise,the best part of it was it was not smelly.So here is my recipe for spinach and moong dal

1/2 cup moong dal washed and cooked till just soft but not mushy.
1/2 onion chopped1 bunch of spinach
2 tsps kura karam
salt,red chilly powder according to taste

Method:
In a wide pan,add and toast popu. When popu is done,add chopped onions and fry till transparent or half cooked . Now,add finely chopped spinach and salt and cover. After 5 mins when spinach is soft add cooked moong dal and cook till dry and add kura karam. Season with required red chilly powder and serve hot with rice.

Entry filed under: Curries and Stir-fries, Lentils.

Moong dal vada Meal thali in my house this sunday

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Seema  |  November 20, 2007 at 1:30 am

    Hey! these spinach with dhal looks good.. will be great to go along with Rotis.

  • 2. easycrafts  |  November 20, 2007 at 2:25 am

    Nice combination…should go well with rice as well as rotis

  • 3. Siri  |  November 20, 2007 at 1:00 pm

    I love the color of the curry. planning to make this tonite..:)

    -Siri

  • 4. Namratha  |  November 20, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    I love this combo and so does hubby dear, I make it often but in the koora style…yummy looking! 🙂

  • 5. Red Chillies  |  November 20, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    this is a nice combination to keep at hand.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Top Clicks

  • None

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 10,330 hits

Feeds

Top Posts


