Garlic Rice

January 9, 2008 at 6:04 pm 8 comments

About two months back when we were moving to a new house ,one of my friend Ashwini has made this garlic rice for us and sent it home.I liked it and made this with my own adaptations.My frined did not add coconut paste and grated carrot.This rice can be made even with left over rice.To make this rice,

Ingredients:

Grind to a paste:
2 tsps grated coconut
1/4 tsp cumin
2 green chillies
For popu/tempering:
5-6 cashew pieces
3 or 4 garlic flakes finely chopped
1/2 tsp mustard seeds
1/4 tsp cumin seeds
1/2 tsp urad dal

Other ingredients:

1 cup cooked rice
1 baby carrot grated
Method:
  • In a pan,add and fry all the popu/tempering ingredients till garlic,cashew and dal are golden brown.
  • Add ground paste and fry for a minute.
  • Add grated carrot and stir.
  • Add cooked rice and stir.
  • Season with salt and serve with yogurt.

I am sending this as my entry for “Think Spice – Think Garlic” event hosted by Sunita.

Entry filed under: Rice.

Vankaya Bangaladumpa kura(Brinjal -Potato Curry) Spicy onion paste stuffed in baby eggplants

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jayashree  |  January 9, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    My husband loves anything with garlic in it….so this is on my must try list. thx.

  • 2. Srivalli  |  January 10, 2008 at 4:52 am

    Looks good..with garlic it must’ve been so good!

  • 3. Taste of Mysore  |  January 10, 2008 at 7:10 am

    It is so nice to garlic rice again. I published it on my blog last month. your version sounds good too.

  • 4. Nags  |  January 10, 2008 at 9:12 am

    u cud send this to sunita’s think spice event!

    i love the flavour of garlic too!

  • 5. Madhavi  |  January 10, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    Try this jayashree!Even we loved it.My friend introduced me to this one.Let me know how it comes out.

    It was delicous Srivalli.

    I saw your blog Taste of mysore.My friend actually made exactly like how you made.that tastes good.I thought I’ll try it with some coconut and carrot to make it look good.You have a great blog too.

    Nags!Thanks for reminding about the event.I updated the post and now,need to mail Sunita.

  • 6. RAKS KITCHEN  |  January 11, 2008 at 8:41 am

    Nice entry for the event Madhavi!

  • 7. Shannon  |  January 17, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    Hello Madhavi,

    In the last few months, you may remember receiving an email invitation to become a part of the Foodbuzz Featured Publisher Program. With all the recipe-writing and food photography to be completed, we know emails can easily get lost in the shuffle, so Foodbuzz would like to re-extend our offer of inviting you to be a part of our food blogger network. I would love to send you more details about the program, so if you are interested, please email me at Shannon@foodbuzz.com.

    Cheers!

    Shannon Eliot
    Editorial Assistant, Foodbuzz.com
    shannon@foodbuzz.com

  • 8. Tracy  |  January 21, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    teeth whiteners

    Rice is always my favorite sidedish and I love cooking with garlic. So without even trying I know this will be one of my favs to make.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Top Clicks

  • None

Flickr Photos

Blog Stats

  • 10,330 hits

Feeds

Top Posts


